Celebrating 10 Years of Allergy Free Mouse!

Big news! Dole Whips are now dairy free, maybe

Visit this page for the latest info on Dole Whip at Disney World.

Dole Whip - Now dairy-free

We’re still researching this, but a reader notified us of Dole pineapple soft serve ingredient changes on the Precision Foods website. Basically, they have reformulated it removing the sodium caseinate (a derivative of the milk protein) which now qualifies it as truly dairy-free, lactose-free and gluten-free, as well as free of the other food allergy ingredients in the “big 8 food allergens” by the FDA. In fact, the ingredients also state it is vegan.

Here is the latest Pineapple Dole Whip ingredient list. Dole tells us this also applies to the orange soft serve, too.

However, while the ingredients are dairy free, Disney Special Diets tells us that it may be served on the same equipment as the vanilla soft serve, which does contain dairy. Therefore, cross-contamination is a potential hazard. Additionally, Aloha Isle may not have the necessary preparation space to prevent cross-contamination.

UPDATE: The equipment used to dispense the Dole Whip product has a nozzle for each flavor. However, while this is good news, you should still mention your food allergies to the Cast Member at the Aloha Isle, making sure they take precautions to avoid cross contamination. You might even request a fresh cup from an unopened package.

Again, proceed with caution if you are allergic to dairy and go with your gut instinct if you feel uncomfortable — walk away, it’s just a Dole Whip.

If you have any firsthand experience and can let us know, please contact us.

23 thoughts on “Big news! Dole Whips are now dairy free, maybe”

  1. Any update on this? My daughter has a very severe dairy allergy, so we don’t take chances. However, what an awesome treat this would be (esp since our previous big treat – Divvies cookies – is no longer available.)

    1. The only update is that about the nozzle for each flavor. We, too, are also very cautious and would ask a lot of questions before ordering, as well as request a packaged cup rather than take one off the top.

      Yes, it is a shame that Divvies is no longer available. The replacement, OMG! It’s Gluten Free has a “dairy free” item. However, it’s produced in a facility with all of the other products. So, since we don’t take chances either, we stay away from them, and the Main Street Bakery where we used to buy Divvies and French Meadow Bakery products. Give Special Diets a call and mention that you would like Divvies back in the parks. They tell us they had more complaints that compliments, and that’s what drove the decision to switch.


  3. And yet 6 ingredients that have corn in them…I thought maybe…::sigh::

  4. I have a (new) severe dairy allergy, but love Dole Whips, so was excited to learn here and from the manufacturer that Dole Whip is now dairy-free.

    However, I had seen on other Disney food blog sites that there was a possible issue that at Aloha Isle there was a possible cross contamination issue because allegedly the dairy-containing vanilla soft serve was mixed in the same container as the dairy-free pineapple and orange dole whips, even though the container was washed out between mixings.

    So, I wrote to WDW Special Diets and asked them.

    Their reply was that the pineapple and orange dole whips contain casein.

    They did not address the mixing issue. They did recommend always checking ingredients at the restaurant.

    I don’t know if they are using old stock, were going off an old ingredient list, made a mistake, its due to the mixing issue or another contamination issue, or if Disney’s Dole whip mix really does contain casein, but they said it does.

    Personally, I will go to Aloha Isle on our upcoming trip and ask them directly, including about the mixing issue, and insist on seeing the ingredient list as well.

  5. Don't mess with my heart, they contain mono and diglycerides which usually means SOY so saying they're top 8 free got me unnecessarily excited

  6. Don't mess with my heart, they contain mono and diglycerides which usually means SOY so saying they're top 8 free got me unnecessarily excited


    We are at WDW this week.

    Earlier this week I went to Aloha Isle hoping to get a Pineapple Dole Whip float.

    The CM told me that the pineapple Dole Whip has a casein derivative in it and therefore is not dairy-free. I said, but the manufacturer says the it doesn’t that it is dairy free. He repeated what he said.

    No Dole Whip for me.

    In contrast, later in the day I went to the Poly’s captain Cook’s and spoke with the manager who assured me that the pineapple Dole Whip was dairy-free. She also made it clear that it was ONLY the pineapple, that the vanilla they also serve contained a dairy ingredient. I explained what happened at Aloha Isle, and she went and got the box itself and she and I read the big yellow ingredient label together. There were no dairy ingredients and no dairy warning that I observed in the ingredient list on the pineapple Dole Whip box.

    So I had a heaping pineapple Dole Whip !! 🙂

    And went back yesterday for another 🙂

    I do not know why there is a discrepancy between the two locations. I can only assume that Aloha Isle is either: cross-contaminating their products; using very old stock (which makes no sense); or is misinformed and not aware of the manufacturer’s ingredient change. I will be writing to WDW Special Diets and their complaints people and asking for an explanation//resolution.


    1. We don’t even try at Aloha Isle. There’s just too much activity there to feel good about avoiding cross-contamination. However, on our last visit, we also checked out the dispenser at Captain Cooks. It’s a self serve machine with constant kid traffic, so we have the same concern with it. I’m sure, if asked, a cast member would give it a cleaning for you. Here’s a photo for those who haven’t been: https://allergyfreemouse.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Captain-Cook-Dole-Whip.jpg

      I don’t know what the ingredient issue is at Aloha Isle.

      However, Sara is absolutely correct, check the ingredients every time.

    2. You are absolutely correct, the pineapple and orange are the ONLY flavors that are dairy free, allergy free, gluten free& cholestrol free. The others are not there yet. There shouldn’t be any cross contamination because you mix them in their own bucket and they dispense from two different levers. When you do a swirl you open both barrels but if you are only getting pineapple you should be fine.

  8. We have been warned by our allergist to stay away from modified food starch as it is often wheat derived. Is it corn based here? Regardless, we won't be able to have one because we are free of the top 8 plus flax, corn, coconut, sesame, and sunflower…but thought I should throw that question out there because it might help someone else.

  9. In the fall after returning from my trip I wrote to WDW and asked about the Dole Whip at Aloha Isle.

    In early October I received a reply back from a MK Sous Chef confirming, as of Early October:

    – the Vanilla soft serve does still contain the Sodium Caseinate
    – the Pineapple Dole whip used to contain Sodium Caseinate; however, it does not anymore
    – he included photos of the ingredient listings from the packages for the pineapple, orange and vanilla soft serve
    – per the ingredient list, the pineapple and orange no longer contain sodium caseinate (a milk-derived ingredient)
    – the pineapple and orange ARE marked with the kosher markings Circle-U D

    He noted that he would be educating the cast members at Aloha Isle about the ingredient change.

    He also noted to me “Please always continue to double check the ingredients when you come to the park as the manufacturers do occasionally change them. Always better to be safe than sorry!”. Sound advice.


  10. According to the Precision Foods Pineapple Dole Whip webpage:


    Sugar, Dextrose, Coconut Oil, Stabilizers (Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Locust Bean Gum, Karaya Gum, Pectin), Maltodextrin, Citric Acid, Natural & Artificial Flavor (contains Pineapple Juice), Modified Food Starch, Malic Acid, Beta Carotene (Color), Mono & Diglycerides, Less Than 2% Silicon Dioxide (Anticaking).

    (see: http://www.precisionfoods.com/foodservice/product_detail.cfm?wpCatId=52568&skuId=795055 )

    Also from the same page:

    Vegan Statement: The ingredients used in this product do not contain dairy, therefore, the product is considered dairy free. The Rabbinical guidelines classify this product to be kosher-dairy. Allergen control and sanitation procedures are in place and are strictly followed. In addition, this product does not contain any animal based ingredients.

    Allergens: None – Based on FDA FALCPA (Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004) “Big 8” allergens.

  11. I know this is an old post, but YES, there is dye in the pineapple, orange and vanilla dole soft serves.

  12. I was at the park yesterday…6/12/15…Disney World no longer sells the pineapple dole whip at the same facility as the orange whip and vanilla soft serve. At both the Magic Kingdom and Epcot there are separate stands for just the Dole Pineapple whip products. The new locations only sell Dole Pineapple Whip in cups, Dole whip with pineapple juice as floats, and cups of plain pineapple juice. Nothing else…not even a cup of water is available at these stands. This should now do away with the problem so many commented on regarding cross contaminating with the pineapple whip and the soft serve ice cream. Hope this helps…

  13. Hi. I know this in an old post but I am curious if it is still fairy free. I will be headed to WDW and I cannot have ice cream because of the lactose. I have never tried the de whip because I was afraid it would make me sick. I am just curious if I can finall6 have one.

Comments are closed.