Celebrating 10 Years of Allergy Free Mouse!

Is Dole Whip dairy free? Aloha Isle review

Aloha Isle in Adventureland

We know some people who seek this out when the first step foot into the Magic Kingdom. Located just inside Adventureland, this Magic Kingdom staple has made people smile for years.

Our daughter, allergic to dairy, cannot eat the ever famous Dole Whip. She could, however, eat the Pineapple Spear, but hey, it’s just not the same! Anyway, we thought it important to “review” this restaurant because so many report on the web that the Dole Whip is dairy free. It is not dairy free! It contains sodium caseinate, a milk derivative. Aloha Isle menuCasein is the milk protein, and what most people are allergic to when they have a true milk allergy, instead of a lactose intolerance.

Like always, be careful what you read on the internet. We strive to include the facts, but ingredients and food handling processes change. Be sure to verify everything on site before ordering.

Dole Whip - Not dairy-freeDisney rides typically allow parent swapping for thrilling rides that younger children can’t (or don’t want to) ride. So, one parent rides while the other parent waits with the child, then they swap. We do this for Dole Whips. While one of us is on a ride with our daughter, the other grabs a Dole Whip, being careful to wash our hands and mouth after the treat.


UPDATE: We neglected to mention that the Dole Whip is gluten free, according to Disney. We also have information on the “Dole Soft Serve” which is how the product is listed for sale at non-Disney restaurants. According to this, it is also lactose free. Plus, it’s fat free, but who really sticks to a diet when eating at Disney?

10 thoughts on “Is Dole Whip dairy free? Aloha Isle review”

  1. There is no mention of peanuts or tree nuts in the ingredients list.

  2. What frozen desserts DID your dairy allergic child eat? What was his/her favorite one. I had read about Dole Whips and was lead astray… it seemed too good to be true to be Dairy free….and thus it is not. Thanks for including the review.

    1. We don’t allow her to eat any of the frozen treats, except freshly made sorbet, guaranteed by the chef to be dairy free. Disney has Rice Dream ice cream available. But we stay away from it since they disclose that it is processed in a facility that also processes dairy.

  3. Is this a new development? I have a milk allergy and definitely recall eating something that I thought was Dole Whip from that stand. I'm NOT saying it is safe, just wondering if this has always been the case.

  4. Some sites are saying it's free of the sodium caseinate now, but it's really confusing to try to figure out if that's really the case. Any tips?

  5. Pineapple Dole Whip is now dairy-free and no longer contains any milkk-derived ingredients. it has been this way for at least a couple years.

    Pineapple Dole Whip is also vegan, gluten, and top-8 allergen free, but does contain a coconut-based ingredient.

    As always, check ingredients and for cross-containation issues in preparation and serving.

Comments are closed.