Big news! Dole Whips are now dairy free, maybe

Posted on : 03-01-2013 | By : Allergy Free Mouse | In : Misc, News

Tags: , , ,

16

Dole Whip - Now dairy-freeWe’re still researching this, but a reader notified us of Dole pineapple soft serve ingredient changes on the Precision Foods website. Basically, they have reformulated it removing the sodium caseinate (a derivative of the milk protein) which now qualifies it as truly dairy-free, lactose-free and gluten-free, as well as free of the other food allergy ingredients in the “big 8 food allegens” by the FDA. In fact, the ingredients also state it is vegan.

Here is the latest Pineapple Dole Whip ingredient list. Dole tells us this also applies to the orange soft serve, too.

However, while the ingredients are dairy free, Disney Special Diets tells us that it may be served on the same equipment as the vanilla soft serve, which does contain dairy. Therefore, cross-contamination is a potential hazard. Additionally, Aloha Isle may not have the necessary preparation space to prevent cross-contamination.

UPDATE: The equipment used to dispense the Dole Whip product has a nozzle for each flavor. However, while this is good news, you should still mention your food allergies to the Cast Member at the Aloha Isle, making sure they take precautions to avoid cross contamination. You might even request a fresh cup from an unopened package.

Again, proceed with caution if you are allergic to dairy and go with your gut instinct if you feel uncomfortable — walk away, it’s just a Dole Whip.

If you have any firsthand experience and can let us know, please contact us.

  

Is Dole Whip dairy free? Aloha Isle review

Posted on : 07-06-2011 | By : Allergy Free Mouse | In : Review

Tags: , , , , , ,

7

Aloha Isle in Adventureland

Please read this update! Dole Whips are free of dairy ingredients – but may still have a cross-contamination issue.

We know some people who seek this out when the first step foot into the Magic Kingdom. Located just inside Adventureland, this Magic Kingdom staple has made people smile for years.

Our daughter, allergic to dairy, cannot eat the ever famous Dole Whip. She could, however, eat the Pineapple Spear, but hey, it’s just not the same! Anyway, we thought it important to “review” this restaurant because so many report on the web that the Dole Whip is dairy free. It is not dairy free! It contains sodium caseinate, a milk derivative. Aloha Isle menuCasein is the milk protein, and what most people are allergic to when they have a true milk allergy, instead of a lactose intolerance.

Like always, be careful what you read on the internet. We strive to include the facts, but ingredients and food handling processes change. Be sure to verify everything on site before ordering.

Dole Whip - Not dairy-freeDisney rides typically allow parent swapping for thrilling rides that younger children can’t (or don’t want to) ride. So, one parent rides while the other parent waits with the child, then they swap. We do this for Dole Whips. While one of us is on a ride with our daughter, the other grabs a Dole Whip, being careful to wash our hands and mouth after the treat.

 

UPDATE: We neglected to mention that the Dole Whip is gluten free, according to Disney. We also have information on the “Dole Soft Serve” which is how the product is listed for sale at non-Disney restaurants. According to this, it is also lactose free. Plus, it’s fat free, but who really sticks to a diet when eating at Disney?